On Uncertainty and the Unknown

streets-roads-wallpaper-1

As I sip on my hot elixir of life, “coffee”, I wonder how often I find myself in a non-ending spiral of uncertainty. As thoughts and words try to fight its way out of my mind to my fingers, all that comes out is “nothing”. “Nothing” in the sense, words which are of no use, not blank spaces.

This entire time I had led a life where I had planned for everything. One week, one month, one year, 2 years and so on. Anything uncertain shook the earth under my feet. I felt I could plan and do things, but I was reminded time and again that it was nearly impossible. I often believed one wrote ones own destiny and one has to willfully move towards it. Even then, I often found my world changing like a kaleidoscope. Colorful, yes but always uncertain.

But then, isn’t it like this for everyone? Uncertainty gripping the feet that moves forward. You might not know what will happen the next second. You might get an award for your achievements, you might lose a friend, you might end up getting kissed by the one you loved, you might end up getting killed, etc. So many layers of probabilities if you think of it and it does creeps the hell out of me.

So, I keep thinking about this and wonder what do I do next even without the slightest of idea what will happen next. Even though nothing productive happens, overthinking happens. That’s where my friend, Uncertainty, ends up having the upper hand over my emotional state. Jittery thoughts coupled with hyperventilation is the best formula for one to end up in a realm of moodiness.

Yet again I often wonder how is that the people around me so calm and composed. Most of them aren’t slightly bothered about the uncertainty around them. I have asked tons of people, all I get from them is “go with the flow”. But how do I “go with the flow” without knowing where to go? This is what I ask them back. Smiling, they say, “Wherever it takes you”. Surprised, I seek a logical explanation to this.

That’s when I remember the poem “The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost.

“I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one less travelled by,

And that has made all the difference.”

These beautiful lines from the poem made it clear that every one of us find ourselves in a place with two road diverging to two different destinies. One that is easy and promising and the other, mysterious and unknown. And we end up choosing the road not taken or the one less traveled even after having full knowledge it can lead us to anywhere.

And that’s the beauty of uncertainty. You prepare your mind for the worst to come, yet you know somewhere between the negativity, Hope finds its way out to you. You walk through a garden of roses with thorns just to reach your destiny which you might not have thought about. You balance yourself in times of adversities so that when Hope comes to you, you are ready to pamper it with love. That’s when you know, Uncertainty was your friend who made you strong rather than an enemy who knocked you down.

Author Credits- Karthika Krishnakumar

I come from a place,
Where poetry touches hearts,
Musings touches the soul.
As for me, I find solace in these.

DSC_0385   Hey, Karthika Krishnakumar here. Someone who is pursuing her CA professional degree and alongside writes for her happiness. Writing is that one that isn’t my strong forte yet I feel even with my imperfect English, I can spin beautifully crafted words.

Karthika blogs at Hopelessly Precise Musings and is fond of writing over a glass of wine on a rainy night.

One thought on “On Uncertainty and the Unknown

Leave a Reply

